Learning About the Catholic Faith

Copy_of_IMG_6782.JPGThere are more than five million Catholics in Australia. It is the largest single Christian denomination, representing nearly 25% of the community.

The Catholic Church is made up of bishops, priests, deacons, men and women belonging to religious orders and lay people. Through their baptism, all are called to enter into the life of the Church.
The Catholic Church in Australia is organised into thirty-five dioceses, each headed by a Bishop. Dioceses include geographic areas as well as Eastern rites and the Military diocese. Each diocese is made up of smaller geographic areas, called parishes.

The Church, through its members, seeks to respond wholeheartedly to Jesus' command to love God and love neighbour. The Catholic Church is a worshipping, Eucharistic community, which carries out its mission to the broader community in a number of key areas including education, health, social justice and social service.

NSW/ACT has 11 dioceses, Sydney and Canberra/Goulburn are both Archdioceses because of the size of Catholic population. 

For more detailed information please visit The Catholic Church in Australia

The Diocese of Parramatta has developed an informative website page